The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   How long to wait after arrival to start riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/how-long-wait-after-arrival-start-156570/)

5Bijou5 03-16-2013 06:41 PM

How long to wait after arrival to start riding

Hi, sorry this is my very first time posting so if I am doing something wrong lemme know.

How long should a person wait before riding a new horse? I have heard some say to give them a week to settle in, others say 3 days, and recently people have been telling me you can ride them the day they arrive, right off the trailer. What's your opinion?
I just got my new horse delivered yesterday and I think I am going to start taking him for walks over the next couple of days, then a few days of ground work in the arena then may start riding next week. Does this seem suitable to you?

BornToRun 03-16-2013 06:45 PM

Welcome to the forum!
IMHO I think it really depends on the horse. If it was me, I wouldn't get on a new horse right off the trailer. When I got my gelding it was a few days after I bought him, and the same when I moved barns. My mare was a little different when I got her because she was barely broke. I'd start with your in hand work and see how relaxed the horse is first.

Phly 03-16-2013 06:52 PM

If hauled a long way, such as days, I'd give em a day or two rest. If only a few hours, lets ride! I don't see how moving barns, switching owners is any different then going to a show. I know there are exceptions, but a good healthy ridin horse should be rideable straight away.
Posted via Mobile Device

ponylover08 03-16-2013 08:08 PM

Hi guys, this is my first post on this forum. It looks cool! :) So what I usually do, is when a new horse comes in, I leave him/her for a day to let him/her get used to it's new surroundings, and just have time to settle in and rest, so he/she will be ready the next day.

Joe4d 03-16-2013 08:38 PM