The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Reining (http://www.horseforum.com/reining/)
-   -   Do reiners look down when riding? (http://www.horseforum.com/reining/do-reiners-look-down-when-riding-156649/)

horselessmom 03-17-2013 12:15 PM

Do reiners look down when riding?

My daughter who's just a beginner, switched from an "eventing" barn to a "reining" barn.

Her new instructor demonstrated what she could do on her horse, and through the entire routine her head was almost hanging down. She never raised her eyes, even, except for when she passed a window and glanced out.

I'm new to this, and in her old barn it was all "eyes up eyes up eyes up."

What's that all about? Is it a different style?

toto 03-17-2013 12:22 PM

No, you look where you want your horse to go when riding in any discipline.. especially for reining.. what all was she demonstrating? Id like to see a vid of the trainer doing spins blindly, lol. :-P

horselessmom 03-17-2013 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by toto (Post 1941611)
No, you look where you want your horse to go when riding in any discipline.. especially for reining.. what all was she demonstrating? Id like to see a vid of the trainer doing spins blindly, lol. :-P

She did some trotting, cantering, side-passing at different gaits, going backwards, changing directions. Nothing terribly "impressive" to my untrained eyes :lol:, but my kid was impressed. :D She didn't do any spins.

Her head was practically hanging, as if she were nodding off. I really don't want to find out that she's an incompetent reiner! :lol: I really like the way she teaches! We just went through this big thing of changing barns.

toto 03-17-2013 12:50 PM

Just basic things.. ive never seen a trainer not look where they wanted their horse to go unless demonstrating what not to do, lol. I would think shed be better disciplined than that..

maybe she was sleepy? :-P

horselessmom 03-17-2013 01:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by toto (Post 1941650)