The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hoof Care (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/)
-   -   first signs of foundering (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/first-signs-foundering-156682/)

carysbella 03-17-2013 05:14 PM

first signs of foundering

I have a 8yr old mare that in her past had foundered in all 4 hoofs. I was told that she could have been very sick and that could have caused it. I have only had my girl since August of 2012 I have had her trimmed and skhe is getting another trim this week. My farrier said to have her trimmed regularly which I plan to do. I give her a hoof supplement and have taken her off grain but in its place she gets a grass pellet along with her hay. I keep her on a controlled feeding. Dont want her fat, lol. I'm new to horse ownership and want to do things right for this girl. But my biggest worry is for her to founder again. So I want to know what are the first signs of the problem so I can make any nessesary changes to correct it or keep it from happening. Sorry for any Mis-spellings , thanks in advance
Posted via Mobile Device

Leggzrider 03-17-2013 11:36 PM

You are doing a lot correct already... keep her diet under control and make sure she gets her regular work in so she doesn't get over weight and she will be fine. Foundering can be avoided and doesn't have to be scary. I have a pony that has cushings and is prone to founder if I blink, but since I have him on a good diet, feet trimmed regularly, and my kids ride him at least 5 times a week- no problems for almost 3 years now.

~*~anebel~*~ 03-17-2013 11:52 PM

First signs will be heat in the hooves, ouchy feet, pulses in the feet. It will be useful to get your vet or a knowledgable horse person to show you how to feel for pulses.
On first onset, coldhose the feet and call a vet.

Good luck!
Posted via Mobile Device

carysbella 03-18-2013 12:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ~*~anebel~*~ (Post 1942719)