The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   French and Polish Arabian Lines? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/french-polish-arabian-lines-156698/)

Houston 03-17-2013 08:27 PM

French and Polish Arabian Lines?

I believe I have a soon to be first horse! A nice Endurance family who I greatly appreciate has been letting me work with her for the last couple of weeks and I fell in love with this mare. Smart, calm, well mannered, and too sweet! Very easy to work with. Her name: Chador, Dory for short. :)

Unfortunately I don't have any good photos of her yet except for a few phone shots.

I'm not good at all with pedigrees and am not yet familiar with the specialties of different lines of Arabians. So any comments on her lines would be helpful. I'm just curious. Her sire Doran SBFAR and his entire line appear to be French bred. Her Dam Zilver Charm seems to have Polish and more racing blood. That's just what my brief research has found.

From All Breed Pedigree

Another question: From what I've found many French bred horses are used for racing. What is special about the Polish lines (and any other lines this mare may have in her pedigree?)

Again, any comments are appreciated!

deserthorsewoman 03-17-2013 09:44 PM

Interesting pedigree. The French side has a drop Polish.
Dam side mainly Polish, one Egyptian line and one old crabbet. Kontiki, racing blood. Sambor, all the Polish, anyway. Poland selects their breeding stock through racing.

There is lots of controversy about French Arabians. If you go down the generations and look at pictures, it gets pretty obvious why. These horses just don't look Arabian. Period. Not to me anyway.But, WAHO acknowledged them as purebred.