The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Horse will NOT pick up his feet for picking. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/horse-will-not-pick-up-his-15677/)

creepalurkin 10-08-2008 02:40 AM

Horse will NOT pick up his feet for picking.

Okay, here's the scoop. I have a 4 year old QH gelding named Kiwi. When I first got him he would pick up his feet fine so I know this is my fault because before I moved him to a closer stable (last week), I was not giving him the attention and training he needed... so he basically has no ground manners. Plus I was a student doing about 60-hour weeks and the place I had him at was 30 minutes down the interstate. (The new place is about 2 minutes from my house)

Anyways, he picks up his back feet just fine; but he absolutely will not pick up his front ones. I have literally tried everything!
-Gently leaning on him, lightly rubbing my hand down his leg.
-Stepping on his toe.
-Pinching his chestnuts.
-More aggressively trying to pick up his leg.
-Pushing on him to move him so I could snatch up his leg as soon as he lifted it.

I don't know what else to do. No, he doesn't "sense" that I'm getting frustrated because I'm usually very calm about it. He'll usually pick them up for other people. It's a pain in the butt and I don't know what else to do. Any pointers? :???:

free_sprtd 10-08-2008 03:55 AM

try gently but firmly tapping his heel with the hoof pick while doing your normal routine of trying to pick up his foot.

what are chestnuts?? cuz it sounds like something that made me giggle lol

kitten_Val 10-08-2008 07:36 AM

Put a lead rope around the leg (just above the hoof) and pull it up. I found it's easier to pick up that way. Do NOT clean it after that, but just keep doing it, say 10-15 times every day and each time try to hold it in air longer. That's how I started my horses. Personally I think you are lucky he's like that with FRONT and not back feet. :wink: