The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   Update - Baby is here *Dalilah's Foaling Thread* (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/update-baby-here-%2Adalilahs-foaling-thread%2A-157065/)

EmsTNWalkers 03-18-2013 09:10 PM

Update - Baby is here *Dalilah's Foaling Thread*

6 Attachment(s)
I figured I might as well go ahead and make a thread for my mare, Dalilah! Some of you already know about her, but I'll go ahead and give all the details. She was covered last year on April 4 and caught the first and only time. This was not an intentional breeding...long story short the owner of the barn I board at turned out his stallion to breed his mares and my mare, unbeknownst to him, was in with the bunch! Needless to say I was not happy, but my frustration has turned to excitement in anticipation of the foal's arrival. This is my first time dealing with a pregnant mare, so I've been doing lots of reading and question asking in an effort to educate myself as much as possible. I don't know if she has ever foaled before, so this should be interesting.

She's due any day now and I can't wait to see what she has. She has a nice bag and is softening up nicely in the back end. She is a buckskin tobiano, and the stallion is a smoky black (which was finally determined thanks to several people on a thread I posted in genetics!) so there are so many color possibilities for this little one. I'm hoping for a nice healthy colt :-) She is a great mare with a great disposition, and the stallion is one of the nicest and well behaved I've seen.

Sorry for the bad pics of the stallion, he isn't mine and I didn't really want to mess with someone else's horse so I just snapped a few quick shots. Oh, and please excuse how dirty they are in the pics, we have had so much rain and it's just impossible to keep anybody clean! The second any of them get out of the stalls they have a nice mud roll :evil:

Here's my girl

Attachment 133673