The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barrel Racing (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/)
-   -   *Bit for a Newbie Gaming Horse?* (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/%2Abit-newbie-gaming-horse-%2A-158649/)

Thrill Ride 03-20-2013 10:50 PM

*Bit for a Newbie Gaming Horse?*

In our area we mainly show Barrels, Poles (bending & weaving), Jumping Figure 8 & Keyhole.

I am training and using a new horse this year. I was using a friend's horse last year and a lot of people said we just didn't look right together. I have to say I would agree. I love tall spunky horses, which she was the complete opposite of. This year I am using the same person's other horse.

Sassy is a 16hh Thoroughbred who I have been working with for around 3 years. This is my favorite horse to ride, the horse I learned on, etc..

I ride her in a low port copper curb currently. But I would like to use a different bit because I am also showing in western pleasure classes (4h reasons). I want there to be a difference for her. Where she knows when I put that bit in she knows what she is doing.

I have tried working her in a snaffle but it just doesn't go well. Her turns are sloppy and slow, her stop isn't right. She works perfect in her curb but I want something where she knows the difference. In her curb she neck reins like a dream, turns nice, and has the right stop. 75% or more of the time I ride with my legs, not my hands which she responds well to.

My favorite events are barrels and keyhole and I know she is the type of horse who can excel in them. Poles and Jumping figure 8 I am going to have my friends help me with. They are my least favorite.

Sassy has quite a bit of spunk to her when she gets excited. Today we were out riding and my friend was quite a ways ahead and I decided to catch up to her. She had that leaping run start and got pretty hot in those few starting seconds but then eased into a nice lope. Calms down pretty quick.