The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Eventing Questions (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/eventing-questions-158978/)

RunningJumpingHorses 03-21-2013 10:53 AM

Eventing Questions

I'm new to this sport and I have a few questions.

What is the white stuff on some event horses legs?

Should you use rear boots for your horse or is ok to not on the lower levels?

I've seen some people trot at part of a cross country course for break, is it ok to do that?

How should you present yourself in each class like velvet helmet for dressage or not? And all decked out for show jumping or no?

If your horse is new to cross country and your eventing BN level, what are some of the scary jumps to work on?

If you could answer these that's be AWESOME!!! Thanks everyone!!
Posted via Mobile Device

NBEventer 03-21-2013 11:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RunningJumpingHorses (Post 1978858)
I'm new to this sport and I have a few questions.

What is the white stuff on some event horses legs?

Should you use rear boots for your horse or is ok to not on the lower levels?

I've seen some people trot at part of a cross country course for break, is it ok to do that?

How should you present yourself in each class like velvet helmet for dressage or not? And all decked out for show jumping or no?

If your horse is new to cross country and your eventing BN level, what are some of the scary jumps to work on?

If you could answer these that's be AWESOME!!! Thanks everyone!!
Posted via Mobile Device

Basically its crisco on the horses legs. Upper level eventers apply it to help prevent injury when the horses legs brush over a fence.

I prefer having boots on all 4 legs as protection should they knock a fence.