The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Needing help (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/needing-help-15911/)

jfarmboy 10-13-2008 12:55 AM

Needing help

Hello i'm new to posting and a new horse owner. I use to ride alot 35 yrs ago, I just started riding again and stupidly went out and bought a 6 yr old thoroughbred, when he trots or canters I cannot stay in the saddle, most because i'm only 155lbs. took a lesson today and my trainer said my sitting was correct and that i would have to live with this or get a different horse. I've only had the horse three weeks, he is good on trails and is a typical horse trying to get away with things if you let him, any sugestions??:roll:

Jubilee Rose 10-13-2008 01:10 AM

Hi and welcome to the horseforum!

Sounds like you have a lot of questions concerning your horse and I don't know if I can really address it all. If you've only had him for three weeks, give it more time. You're still new at this and getting used to owning a horse. Spend lots of time with him, grooming, taking care of him, etc. Just get to know him, his personality, quirks, soft spot to rub. Leave the undersaddle work in the background for now and focus on some groundwork such as lunging. Start establishing a relationship of trust and respect through lots of quality time. Maybe have a trainer start working/schooling your horse as well? Hope this helps. Good luck!

NorthernMama 10-13-2008 08:24 AM