The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Need help with rescue.... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/need-help-rescue-15974/)

BiltmoreDawn 10-13-2008 10:58 PM

Need help with rescue....

Hey all, new to the forum. Today I rescued a very malnourished 17 year old horse. I am not new to horses but, I am new to this. It seems everywhere I turn I get conflicting answers to my Qs. I know as much as the key to this is very slow. The horse will share 50 acres with one other horse. I have been told to let him graze only for app. 2 weeks. feed him small amounts (app. 1/2 of a ball cap) of high protien feed. I read an article about a UC Davis study that sez Alphalpa is best & another article that sez hay is best. :roll: Needles to say I am quite confused. Any help you can provide would be greatly apprec. Thank You in Advance! Dawn

kitten_Val 10-13-2008 11:32 PM

First of all, congrats on rescue that horse! :!:

I think keeping him on (rich) pasture 24/7 is just fine. You may want to add normal hay and some alfalfa in winter or if the pasture is not that rich. As for grain/pellets the best is to feed him several times a day smaller amounts. I added corn oil to the feed when I brought my rescues to the normal weight. You can also add beet pulp, bran, and/or weight builder to the grain/pellets (I never did, but number of people from this forum mentioned that, I'm sure they'll share experience again).

Basically my rescues were on good hay 24/7 and I used 12% protein grain + oil twice/day. Took just a month or so to bring weight on. Although my horses were much younger than yours.

Good luck with him!

kickshaw 10-13-2008 11:41 PM

if he isn't used to the richness of the grass, gradual introduction would work best (so you avoid colic-y issues)