The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Conformation Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/)
-   -   Swayback? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/swayback-160017/)

minstrel 03-22-2013 04:27 PM

Swayback?

1 Attachment(s)
Ok, I am the first to admit I'm not an expert on conformation - I can see whentheres 'something' I don't like about the way a horse is put together, but I'm far from an expert.

Now, I picked up my ex-point-to-pointer a few months ago as something to keep me busy, to do some eventing etc with after my old eventer was pts. I was we'll aware that he was high withered, with a short back and the typical lack of muscling over the top, but with generally nice long legs (one front hoof slightly larger than the other but no other problems). My farrier and my instructor both looked at him and didn't comment on anything more than I'd noticed, and my saddler noticed his one sided muscling but again nothing else mentioned.

However, there was a girl made an offhand comment when I unloaded him for a lesson the other week that has been preying on me - she said he was swaybacked. I've worked with two swaybacked horses before, neither of which were like him, but I've just got it stuck in my head now... And very aware I'm not the best judge of conformation I thoughtid ask what you all think...

I am aware he still needs groceries and lots of work building top line, but do you think he is actually swaybacked or just high withered?

minstrel 03-22-2013 04:30 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Another pic, yes I know he's standing over himself a bit weirdly but ignore that, just look at the back.

Speed Racer 03-22-2013 04:31 PM

He's not swaybacked, he has high withers. Really now, have horse people become so uneducated that they don't know the difference between swayback and high withers?

Taffy Clayton 03-22-2013 04:31 PM

I wouldn't call him swayback.

minstrel 03-22-2013 04:36 PM