The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Standing wraps + Quilts, or No-Bows? Or naked? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/standing-wraps-quilts-no-bows-naked-160177/)

SnowCowgirl 03-22-2013 07:28 PM

Standing wraps + Quilts, or No-Bows? Or naked?

In just over a month I'm going to be hauling my mare about 2500km. She's been trailered lots before but always in a stock trailer with other horses. This time she'll be going alone in a 2 horse straight haul... we're working up to the part where she actually GETS IN :lol:

I've never used boots on any horses before but figure that it probably can't hurt, right? I've heard horror stories about shipping boots but it seems like people seem to like using standing wraps (I know how to wrap properly).

My question is, for this distance (unfortunately we'll be doing it in only a couple of days due to time restrictions), would you wrap or not? I'm not sure whether to just use quilts or if I should go for "No Bows"... what the heck are they really anyway?? I was also thinking of putting bell boots on her all round.

equiniphile 03-22-2013 10:29 PM

I actually just got home from teaching younger Pony Club members how to wrap....for four hours. Standing wraps, shipping bandages, figure eight wraps, spider bandages, tail wraps, polo wraps, you name it.

I would wrap for that distance. Personally, I would do a shipping bandage with either flannel wraps or track wraps. Use thick no bows; not the thin ones that are everywhere these days. You could also use cotton sheets. Wrap all the way to the ground, over the hoof, up to the knees/hocks. You can also do a standing wrap and cup it so that the pastern is protected as well. This will require no bows or quilts (thick!) and track wraps.

alexischristina 03-23-2013 01:11 AM

I definitely vote no-bows and a standing wrap or similar. Equiniphile has given some perfect advice, though, so just up-voting that, lol!