The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Need help with breaking my horse (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/need-help-breaking-my-horse-16404/)

Rollyourownman 10-22-2008 03:08 PM

Need help with breaking my horse

I am very new to this and i have not got the money to hire someone to break my horse for me i have alot of patience but have no clue on how to break my horse so i can get the saddle on her. i can get on her and ride bareback but when she see's the saddle she freaks out what can i do?:???:

aappyfan1 10-22-2008 03:16 PM

Well this forum is a great place to start. Always good information from some very knowlegable people. Another thing to do is check out your local library and see if they have any books or training videos Because that helps alot too. I just started training my gelding this summer and he is coming along ok, but it takes alot of commitment on your part to follow through as they are always going to be setbacks etc..

servinator 10-22-2008 03:36 PM

There is a lot of great material out there, but one thing you could start with is to slowly introduce her to the tack, set it on the ground walk her past it, etc. when she isn't spooky about being around it, pick it up and bring it to her, let her smell it, see it up close. When she's okay with that, rub the saddle pad on her back, etc....I'm sure you get the picture.

Angel_Leaguer 10-22-2008 03:38 PM

How much ground work have you done with her? A good foundation between you and your horse always starts on the ground.

With the saddle thing just take your time. Let the horse smell it so it knows what the thing is (it can be very scary..lol)

Saddling Your Horse What You Should Know - Associated Content

here is a decent article explaining what to do...

Hope it helps and good luck!!!

carriedenaee 10-22-2008 03:48 PM