The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Flatwork (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/flatwork-166562/)

Skyseternalangel 04-01-2013 08:42 PM

Flatwork

Okay peeps... this is my first time riding *this* horse. I previously had issues cantering but seem to be doing *better* but I'm still not happy with my seat.

I am the one in the striped tee. Please don't say anything about the other rider on the much larger horse.

Any pointers?

Thank you :)

Hidalgo13 04-01-2013 09:01 PM

All I can say is that your posting trot looks lovely and effortless, and your seat at the canter so balanced and smooth. I'm jealous ;)

Skyseternalangel 04-01-2013 09:31 PM

Really??? Aww I'm blushing :P Thank you haha

jinxremoving 04-02-2013 09:01 AM

The biggest thing that I see is that your heels keep coming up! You gotta let the weight sink into the heels instead of trying to force them down.

Do some stair exercises where you let your heels hang over the edge, let them fall all the way down, hold for two seconds, then lift them back up and hold for another two seconds. Keep repeating until you can no longer do them. It's a great way to help stretch your heels and I swear it was the most important exercise I did to help with my heels.

GotaDunQH 04-02-2013 01:53 PM

I'd like to see you relax those arms and give your horse some reins...bring your arms back with a bend at the elbow. Your hands are half way up your horses neck and almost held "saddleseat" style. At the canter you are behind the motion...pushing forward with your seat. I'd like to see you sit quiet without the upper body movement...some slight pumping going on and you have hollowed out your back. I LOVE that you keep your head and eyes up and look where you are going!!!!!

tinyliny 04-02-2013 02:16 PM

Sky,