The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Wrapping legs after hard work (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/wrapping-legs-after-hard-work-168370/)

DancingArabian 04-04-2013 09:08 AM

Wrapping legs after hard work

I didn't want to hijack someone's thread.

In the spring and fall I work as a vet assistant on the track. I catch urine and help bleed. Sometimes if the trainers are short and I'm not busy I will help cut racing bandages and wrap before they leave. I've been doing it for years and I'm good with the racers so the trainers that know me trust me. I've never wanted to bother them with my questions.

For the wrapping, its usually a paste that looks and feels like plaster of Paris (but obviously isn't), then a layer of brown paper or plastic wrap, then standing pads then standing wraps or vet wrap.

Would someone explain to me about what you put on the horses legs after the hard workouts? What is that plastery stuff? Why would some choose to put paper versus plastic on top of that?

For someone not madly racing their horses, is this something a rider should ever consider doing? Is it a preventative or only done for some horses?
Posted via Mobile Device

Freemare 04-04-2013 09:16 AM

The paste is meant to pull heat of the leg. Think of it as a ice pack on leg. It pulls heat out slowly so they have less chance of founder or further legs problems. Some people like plastic as it holds up a little better and will keep the paste there longer. Paper will sometimes suck up some of the paste...etc.

SaddleOnline 04-04-2013 10:15 AM