The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Riding Lessons: What Are You Learning? (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/riding-lessons-what-you-learning-16945/)

Moxie 11-03-2008 10:56 AM

Riding Lessons: What Are You Learning?

I posted this in the western riding section because western riding lessons is really want I'm most interested in.

I've been taking lessons now since early this summer (give or take). I feel like I should be learning more. I am curious to see what everyone is learning in their lessons. What am I not learning? I just want to make sure I am getting everything that I can out of my lesson, and everything I can for my money.

melinda27858 11-03-2008 01:14 PM

I just started riding about a year ago and have been taking lessons since then...bought my first horse in January.
I remember a while ago questioning the same thing you are, am I still learning??? It felt like my learning had plateaued. I made the decision to stick with what my trainer thought was best. I have realized the better that I have gotten at the tasks I practice in my lessons (that even when I thought my lessons were becoming repetitive), I still had a lot to improve on back then. You won't realize it until things become easier or suddenly snap into place mentally for you. I was fortunate enough to have my own horse to practice on between lessons. It may take a while until you say "aha!" if the only practice you are getting is a lesson once a week without practice in between. Trust when I say that you MAY think you have it down...but you will see even more improvement!!!

If you are getting bored, ask your trainer to show you flying lead changes!!! Haha!

CowgirlUp616 11-03-2008 07:00 PM