The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   My horse still bucks when I use spurs even after lots of groundwork (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/my-horse-still-bucks-when-i-170257/)

Sunflower15 04-07-2013 05:45 PM

My horse still bucks when I use spurs even after lots of groundwork

So I have been leasing a horse for almost 1 and 1/2 years and have been doing natural horsemanship with her for 1. She backs up with wiggling my finger and yeilds her hinds just by me looking at them. She has a fairly slow walk and trot and I have been working on slowing down her lope and her getting the correct lead. (She doesn't take the right one) i have done a huge amount of groundwork on her. Desensitizing and sensitizing all that stuff.

The thing is she is lazy and does not like to lope. normaly, she swishes her tail when I ask but still goes into a lope. Her lope is somewhat fast and I have been working on that. Today I asked her to lope to the right and she did. At first she was on the left lead (wrong lead) but the switched to the right. Right after that... She was trying to veer or the circle to the left and wasn't responding to my outside rein so I gave her a little tap with my outside leg and the spur then she just started bucking.

Also about her leads, on the ground she will take the left lead right away. When going to the right, at first she takes the left lead but then once I work with her she will switch to the right lead in the front but still has the left in the back. I have heard this is because she doesnt have enough impulsion, but she is on a long line. Also going to the left she isnt that cranky and doesnt put her ears back, but going to the right when i ask for the lope she does and gets really cranky.

Any tips or comments??? I just don't know where to go from here in her training as of now.

Thanks!!

GamingGrrl 04-07-2013 05:58 PM