The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Free Walking..... (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/free-walking-172273/)

RunningJumpingHorses 04-10-2013 06:11 PM

Free Walking.....

Hi. I'm new to dressage and learned a lot but free walking puzzles me. I've seen other horses almost take the reins out of a rider's hands and lower their head. Is this free walking? As much as I try, my western horse converted to English just doesn't' want to pull the bit down... Are there exercises I can do to better my score on that part of the test? :?

MyBoyPuck 04-10-2013 06:20 PM

My understanding of the free walk is that the horse is supposed to stretch out on a longer rein but still with contact. The idea is to fish out the reins to the horse so it can elongate it's frame and stretch it's neck forward, but still keeping contact with the rider's hand. At the same time, the hind feet should be stepping into or in front of the prints left by the front feet. The result will be a horse who is stretching it's head both forward and somewhat down, kinda 60/40%. If you just drop the contact and give the horse a loose rein, most likely the horse will just drop it's head into the dirt because there's nothing there to reach into. It will also stop working from behind and no longer overtrack. I'm still playing with how much seat you need to add to get the leg activity the judges are looking for, but just remember to give your horse something to reach into by keeping the contact to some degree. Hope that helps.

kenda 04-10-2013 06:34 PM

Dressage Canada defines the free walk as:

3.4 Free walk
: The free walk is a pace of relaxation in which the horse is allowed complete freedom to lower and stretch out his head and neck. The degree of ground cover and length of strides, with hind feet stepping clearly in front of the footprints of the front feet, are essential to the quality of the free walk.