The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horses for Sale (http://www.horseforum.com/horses-sale/)
-   -   Would you buy a senior horse maybe 22 years old? (http://www.horseforum.com/horses-sale/would-you-buy-senior-horse-maybe-172545/)

Nvr2L8 04-11-2013 08:11 AM

Would you buy a senior horse maybe 22 years old?

I am just wondering if people would actually buy a senior horse that is in their early 20s if they were sound and had no major problems other than the normal senior equine problems that come with age like senior feeds, chopped hay, joint supplements, etc?

I am looking at a horse that would essentually be for me and I am an beginner to advanced beginner. I am in my early 40s and will not show. I just want a horse I can enjoy walks, trots, on, working in a ring on skills and some trail riding but nothing heavy. I just want to sit on the back and enjoy a nice ride down the road smelling the green grass and flowers...very simple.

People say that older horses can make some really good first horses or horse for people that don't have goals that involve heavy work like jumping, cross country, barrel racing, etc.

I would love to hear some of your opinions. I don't want to overlook a horse based on age if they would be perfect for what I am looking for.

Debbie

SouthernTrails 04-11-2013 08:19 AM

I may take some flack for this, but a 22 YO Horse is way too old.

How many years of riding will you get 2,4?, before old age Vet Bills, etc.

We had a student who bought a 22 YO and he passed at 24. While that is not normal, it does happen.

We had several students who purchased 10 to 12 YO and they were great beginner Horses.

Yes, a Horse can live to 30 or longer, but for an adult rider not many can be ridden past 25, of course there are exceptions.

jmho

Cat 04-11-2013 08:31 AM