The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Good spurs for dressage? (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/good-spurs-dressage-173449/)

existentialpony 04-12-2013 01:10 PM

Good spurs for dressage?

1 Attachment(s)
Hi all!

After several months of gaining my leg, balance and seat back, I've finally allowed myself to start wearing a pair of spurs with my gelding for refining cues (with a trainer!). I hunted around google images and found a picture that most closely resembles my pair; see below.

My goal in using a pair of spurs is to have a pair that provides more localized/specific contact, but isn't so much that my horse will become dull without spurs (especially considering the fact that I am new to dressage & spur use). My question is: is there a better pair I could be using? My trainer has a neat pair of short-neck rollers that seem gentle but effective. What spurs do you use for dressage? Do you have a recommended pair?

Thanks! :)

Corporal 04-12-2013 01:20 PM

I know that the Dressage people here will tell you what is legal in the show ring, but I'd like to put in my 2 cents worth re: spurs.
First, spurs are a great training tool.
Second, you should use the mildest spur to get the job done. I have US Cavalry brass spurs with sharp rowels, a more mild set of stainless steel roweled spurs, a set of 1/2 long Prince of Wales Spurs and a set of blunt 3/8" long SS spurs.
My favorite spurs are the Prince of Wales. My horses can feel them with just a turn of my heel, and I use them to train better attention to my leg. Calve cue first, then, if unresponsive, spur next. If unresponsive to the spur I dismount and do some ground training.
You want your horse to understand that a spur is coming, so he needs to listen to your leg.
I wore the Cav. spurs pretty much for show bc after training my horses to the hobby they knew their job and it took only a forward, looser rein and my calves to gallop off from a halt.