The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Pictures (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-pictures/)
-   -   new to horses please help (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-pictures/new-horses-please-help-17357/)

emiliofaraj 11-11-2008 09:07 AM

new to horses please help

4 Attachment(s)
hi my name is emilio and im new to horses and would like some advice on a horse that i am being sold .they tell me he is one year old .im going to post some photos of him .i would realy aprichate the advice thank you

JustDressageIt 11-11-2008 09:44 AM

Please please please keep the horse at a livery or stable where some experienced people can handle him and keep up his feed.
Secondly, why are you buying a 1 year old? If you're new to horses, a broke older horse is the way to go. Youngsters take a LOT OF TRAINING and need a firm hand that knows what they're doing.
Do you plan on starting him yourself?
Are you going to send him to a trainer?
A lot of people think "oh well it's a smaller horse so I can just push it around and it's cute so why would it matter?" which is wrong. Inexperienced horsepeople and young horses are a BAD MIX 99% of the time.
Do you have the time to devote to this horse?
Do you have help with this horse?
Ok, getting off my soapbox.

emiliofaraj 11-11-2008 09:54 AM

yes im planning to send him to a well known horse stable where he will have a trainer. im not planning on doing this myself. in the mean while i am starting to get lessons from the same trainer on some older horses and work my way up.i ride but im no pro so i decided to get some lessons thanks fore the help

Vidaloco 11-11-2008 10:25 AM

He looks very handsome to me. What breed is he?

emiliofaraj 11-11-2008 10:33 AM

they are telling me he is a querter mile paint horse

english_rider144 11-11-2008 11:08 AM