The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   How do you know the trainer is right for your horse(s)? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/how-do-you-know-trainer-right-17655/)

Thunder 11-15-2008 12:41 PM

How do you know the trainer is right for your horse(s)?

How do you know the trainer is right for your horse(s)?

I'm planning to send Thunder to training barn (starting under saddle) this winter. It's my first time to send the horse to training barn.

Thanks!

Zab 11-15-2008 01:49 PM

I'm very, very sceptic to all trainers... robably because I don't agree with the majority of riders and ridingstyles I've seen :P

But..I had to realize it just wasn't working very well... the progress was slow and there's just that much I can take of walking without getting bored.. I need a horse that knows more than me since I havn't ridden AR before and has to learn :P
My choice was easy; Reneé is my riding teacher, I've worked for her, ridden her horses and seen how she handles things; she's just like me when it comes to if it's ok to correct a horse or not and that I/her want to know WHY we're doing that, how it comes to have that or that effect etc. Not just ''ok, this seems to work, lets go for it'' if we don't see any appearant reason to why it works and why it's good.. hard to explain :)
I've also noticed that when she correct me as I ride (''put your left hip down and turn your shoulders..the other left.. -_-;'' )it gives a result in an instant.
So well.. it was easy for me, I know her. :3

If I were you and didn't have Renee tho, I'd try to see how different trainers train their horses, watch a few sessions, talk with them etc to see if we have the same idea about horsemanship.I'd also make sure to come and visit especially in the start, to see how it wors out.
If the trainer don't want that, I'd be very careful.