The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   New to Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/new-horses-17728/)

tzone 11-16-2008 03:20 PM

New to Horses

Hello everyone,

I am new to horses (the whole nine). Any suggestions as to where I start? I will eventually buy one but wanted to get my feet wet first and see what I am in for.

Thanks!

free_sprtd 11-16-2008 04:17 PM

I would suggest lessons at that start from the ground up! or even volunteer at a barn :)

free_sprtd 11-16-2008 04:33 PM

oh and lots of research books, online, ect. but definitely ride a little first.

mom3x 11-16-2008 06:43 PM

Lessons, forums, helping out at a barn, or finding a vet or trainer who will let you follow them around. Or a friend with a horse. Good luck!

Jubilee Rose 11-16-2008 08:47 PM

Well you have definitely come to the right place! Welcome to the horse forum! You will learn a lot here. :wink: I agree, start off taking lessons at a local barn. As you go along, ask if you can work in exchange for lessons. This is great for experience and you'll get to learn about horse care and maintenance. Although nothing substitutes for practical experience, I would suggest finding some good beginner horse books as well. Anything by Elwyn Hartley Edwards is excellent and informative.

Good luck! :D

Brandon 11-17-2008 12:07 PM

I think its awsome that you want to learn about horses. I would suggest that if you are unable to volunteer around at nearby barns, that you get books and read into horses. I would also call around to nearby ranchs (if there is any in your area) and see if they offer riding lessons. Riding lessons cost between $20 to $50 an hour (sometimes more than an hour). I think its great that you want to eventually buy a horse, but what i was always told is "wait a year, build up your knowledge, build up your experience, and then way your finances and if you can buy a horse, then go for it!"..