The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   going thru with threat (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/going-thru-threat-179497/)

TBforever 04-21-2013 09:38 PM

going thru with threat

how do you tell if the horse will go thru with the threat, like miover when lunging, he pins ears back and comes at u and turns at last minute,

i am well aware of my faults in this as i am only learning to longe aswel, which ive stopped doing as it doesnt help when we both dont know what to do lol

but how do u tell if they will go thru with it?

tinyliny 04-21-2013 10:42 PM

I didn't have time to watch it all (will do so later) but right away I can see that this horse has NO respect for you. That time he came in toward you would have really scared me. But, I would have had that whip right in front of me, at his face and if got within range of me hitting him, I'd have whopped him so hard he'd never do that again.

that whip is too flimsy, for one thing. Get a firmer whip that can transmit some strength.

When you bring him out to the grass you start right then and there; you do not allow him to eat. He must stand quietly , 6 to 8 feet away from you while you prepare the line. if he starts to eat, you stop that pronto! YOu do not allow him to leave you mentally and go off to eating while you fuss with the line. IF you cannot do both, then do the "you stand where I say" and jettison lunging him.

When he is lunging, start right off with getting a quality movement. so, if you said "walk" and he shambles along, then you put the whip to the ground good and hard, make a ruckus, and get him to smarten up!

He'll jump, or pin his ears, or maby move toward you. ONE step toward you and explode at him. Don't be wishy washy. He is acting in a very insulting and threatening way. You are just getting in HIS way, and soon enouhgh he'll do something to get you out of his way.