The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Colors and Genetics (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/)
-   -   What are the possibilities of Frame on both? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/what-possibilities-frame-both-180633/)

equinelvr 04-23-2013 03:09 PM

What are the possibilities of Frame on both?

4 Attachment(s)
Hello,

I am wondering what the possibilities of both these horses having the frame gene? In reading others posts, it seems that the white spreading over the eyes is an indicator as well as coloring on the bodies, but with my mare, she is a solid sorrell and I was wondering what everyone thought about the odds of both of them having it? I know these are not the best shots, but they are all I have right now. The paint looks like he has a reallllyyy long face in the photo, but it just was the angle of the camera, he does have a pretty head :) I am still learning all of the ins and outs of genes and how they affect each other.

P.s......no making fun of my red and black saddle ;) I have had that since I was 16 and it is really comfortable for both my mare and I. I am not really one to care if all my stuff matches as long as it fits and is comfortable for both.

CLaPorte432 04-23-2013 03:16 PM

I'd say they both have it.

The paint most definitely, the mare, I'm 98% positive due the white on her face above the eyes.
Posted via Mobile Device

equinelvr 04-23-2013 03:25 PM

So, if I am reading correctly, should I decide to breed my mare, I should not breed her to this paint. Doesn't breeding frame to frame raise the possibilites of a foal death?

Poseidon 04-23-2013 03:29 PM

If you breed frame to frame (N/O to N/O), there is a 25% chance that the foal will receive frame from both parents, resulting in O/O. Homozygous frame is lethal.