The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

What are the possibilities of Frame on both?

2K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  equinelvr 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I am wondering what the possibilities of both these horses having the frame gene? In reading others posts, it seems that the white spreading over the eyes is an indicator as well as coloring on the bodies, but with my mare, she is a solid sorrell and I was wondering what everyone thought about the odds of both of them having it? I know these are not the best shots, but they are all I have right now. The paint looks like he has a reallllyyy long face in the photo, but it just was the angle of the camera, he does have a pretty head :) I am still learning all of the ins and outs of genes and how they affect each other.

P.s......no making fun of my red and black saddle ;) I have had that since I was 16 and it is really comfortable for both my mare and I. I am not really one to care if all my stuff matches as long as it fits and is comfortable for both.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I'd say they both have it.

The paint most definitely, the mare, I'm 98% positive due the white on her face above the eyes.
Posted via Mobile Device

#4 · (Edited)
If you breed frame to frame (N/O to N/O), there is a 25% chance that the foal will receive frame from both parents, resulting in O/O. Homozygous frame is lethal.

I wouldn't chance it based on looking at them. However, the test for frame is all of $25. Save yourself the worry about finding another stud if your heart is set on him and test your mare. If she happens to be N/O, choose someone else because I wouldn't risk that. If your mare is N/N, have at it with whoever you choose to breed to.

But as an example, this is my mare. She only really has this blaze and a small hind sock and she is N/O.

#6 ·