The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Natural Horsemanship vs??? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/natural-horsemanship-vs-1812/)

pipewelder_1999 05-10-2007 12:27 AM

Natural Horsemanship vs???

Hello everyone,

I have recentl been given two horses. One is a 20 year old saddle horse and the other is a 6 year old quarter horse. My experience with horses is only 4 or 5 years in my teenage years and then random riding after that.

My experience as a teenager was with various horses including Hunter/Jumpers, 5 gaited horses, my own quarter horse, and the probaby 200+ different horses I got to ride at my job at a public riding stable. I have always been comfortable around them and confident on their backs. I have also been pretty rough with them in the past. I recently started riding someone elses horses and I want to become a better horseman.

I have seen a few of the shows on RFD in the past and I am very interested in the "natural horsmanship" methods that I have seen. I am very gentle and affectionate with horses when things go well. I go towards more forceful methods when the horses begin to loose focus or become distracted .

I am interested in some general overviews of different schools of thought for training and handling horses. Are there any websites that break down some of these different methods that exist?

TxHorseMom 05-10-2007 04:12 PM