The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Can a horse that rushes the fences be "fixed" (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/can-horse-rushes-fences-fixed-18187/)

mom23monkeys 11-23-2008 10:17 PM

Can a horse that rushes the fences be "fixed"

Be slowed down to ride like in a hunter show? I am asking because I have the opportunity to purchase a sweet girl that I have been riding for 2 months (but can't continue unless I buy her), but I am having a hard time with her as she rushes after she has been warmed up a little. It is almost like she just want to get it over with. It may be something I am doing, but she did this to her current owner too. I am in lessons 2 times a week, and have a fairly confident seat, but am new to jumping. I LOVE her and want to buy her, but this is most likely THE ONLY horse I will ever have, so I want to be able to do fun stuff with her... I have spent countless nights up thinking about it...My trainer doesn't want to sway me either direction. When asked she just says that she thinks we are doing well together. I get frustrated that she runs away with me if I try to do 2-3 jumps in a row...but if it is fixable I am in!!! What do you think?

BeauReba 11-23-2008 10:20 PM

As long as you are getting frustrated, no she will never get better. Ask your instructor what she thinks will help the situation. Using ground poles, gymnastics, and halting exercises will help for sure. I knew an OTTB who used to zoom around the arena on the flat and o/f but settled down quite a bit after doing exercises and being ridden consistently.

equineangel91 11-23-2008 11:27 PM

i think it can be fixed. Its going to take a very quiet rider. Quiet hands, Quiet seat. and lots of suppling and steady work. hey try her out on those low cross rails...mix it up. It sounds pretty easy to fix.

PoptartShop 11-23-2008 11:31 PM