The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barn Maintenance (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/)
-   -   Cracks in concrete floor? (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/cracks-concrete-floor-183049/)

horsecrazygirl13 04-26-2013 10:29 PM

Cracks in concrete floor?
 
Hi our barn is really old and it has a concrete floor. well, the floor/foundation has cracks in it(not too many but they're really long). they're not much wider than-let's say-5mm-1cm.Thats a rough estimate. The floor is pretty even, though. I wanted to put stall mats over it and I was wondering if I should do something about those cracks or just leave them? do you think it would get worse?

Phly 04-26-2013 10:42 PM

Eventually yes they will likely get worse. Should you be concerned, I honestly don't think so. In a hundred years there might be an issue, but, till then I think you'll be just fine.
Ground settles, temps affect concrete, so many variables. But concrete cracks. It happens. Unless its a rat wall or a structural other part of the structure I'd tend to be inconserened.
Posted via Mobile Device

horsecrazygirl13 04-26-2013 10:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phly (Post 2360993)
Eventually yes they will likely get worse. Should you be concerned, I honestly don't think so. In a hundred years there might be an issue, but, till then I think you'll be just fine.
Ground settles, temps affect concrete, so many variables. But concrete cracks. It happens. Unless its a rat wall or a structural other part of the structure I'd tend to be inconserened.
Posted via Mobile Device

Is there a way to fix them? Just wondering...

waresbear 04-26-2013 11:17 PM

Yes, but you need a concrete saw & mixer.

horsecrazygirl13 04-26-2013 11:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by waresbear (Post 2361337)
Yes, but you need a concrete saw & mixer.

Why a saw? I meant sort of filling the cracks-sorry if I got you wrong, though.

Chevaux 04-26-2013 11:59 PM

I think Waresbear means the saw is required to prep the site you so that new concrete can be placed in it properly -- basically evening the cracked line and making enough room to get to the new concrete in place.

It is a lot of effort working with concrete so I wonder if in your circumstance you sweep some dirt in the cracks if that would do and then put the mats over top as you planned?

waresbear 04-27-2013 12:01 AM

You have to saw into the crack with a concrete blade to prepare it for fresh concrete being poured it. It is a heavy duty job. I really wouldn't worry about filling in cracks, like Chevaux said, sweep some dirt or better yet, sand in the cracks and you're good.

Saddlebag 04-27-2013 07:26 AM

There are patching compounds you can get. Just use a wire brush and shop vac to clean the crack and apply. If it was mine I'd likely get that roofing tar in a tube that fits a caulking gun and squeeze it in there then put sand on it and let it dry.

michaelvanessa 04-27-2013 03:14 PM

cracked concreat
 
the other way is to use soft or sharp sand and cement to make a screed and brush it in.
in situations were there is cracks water gets in it can blow the concreat and if water gets underneath it it can brake up with frost heave.
concreat has a life span of 100 years.

Lopin N Paint 04-27-2013 03:36 PM

Just remember there are only two types of concrete:

The kind that's cracked

And the kind that hasn't cracked yet.

I really wouldn't worry too much about it myself...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0