The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Critique My Riding? (English) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-my-riding-english-183585/)

Almond Joy 04-27-2013 11:16 PM

Critique My Riding? (English)

4 Attachment(s)
Hi, I'm 15 and I've been riding for 10 months... Tear me apart! I have actually had only 9 months of consistent weekly lessons... I know my toe turns out way too much (A previous instructor encouraged it), and I need to lean back/ pull my shoulders back. I was wondering how I should change my jumping position so it looks like an actual jumping position and not like im just flopping around? I can do half seat fine on the ground, but when I get to the jump (half cavaletti) I feel that I get messed up. The timing feels right but when I look at the photos my whole upper body and arms are out of whack.

Thanks!

Fudgelove 05-08-2013 08:39 PM

in the first picture it looks like you need to sit more towards the front of your saddle which is an issue of mine as well and push you shoulders back and toes in like you said, your horse it soo cute btw

waresbear 05-08-2013 08:56 PM

Lots going on there, but best thing to remember is to relax your shoulders and stick your chest out, that will improve your position tremedously. I like how you are looking up in every picture, however in the two point, you are sticking your neck out and hunching your back, relax!

Nikkibella 05-18-2013 05:26 PM

Try sliding your hands up his neck when he lifts his front end off the ground , also try to stick your butt out and drop your chest a little, when his front end hits the ground use your abs to snap your upper body back up .

LOVE YOUR HORSE BTW
Posted via Mobile Device

Corporal 05-18-2013 07:37 PM

You probably have a build that sticks your toes out, but please, try to point them forward. You don't want to be cueing with the back of your calf.