The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Green Trainer/Green Horse (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/green-trainer-green-horse-18586/)

wanderlust 11-30-2008 05:14 PM

Green Trainer/Green Horse

I am asking this question as part hypothetical, part reality. At this point though, mostly hypothetical.

I am a new rider. I am just beginning lessons again after almost 15 years away from horses. I am a voracious reader and have spent years reading about horses, but have spent that time not actually being near horses.

Unfortunately, I can't fight the horse fever. I am more strongly wanting a horse of my own every day.

It has always been my dream to have an unbroken foal and break it. I think that bond is something unbeatable.

If I were to work with a trainer about half the time, and the other half of the time be alone with the horse, what are my chances of doing this right? I want a horse, but not at the expense of it being done badly.

RusticWildFire 11-30-2008 05:31 PM

Well, to be honest it would be best to start out with a broke horse to get back into it and then get an unbroken foal.
I got Hunter as a 3 year old and he was pretty much un-trained. I picked it up quickly and did a good job IMO. I had Scooter before that though who I got when he was 20. He taught me LOTS of things!
It can be done but as you said you don't want to do it wrong either.. I think working with a trainer is a really good idea if you do go ahead with it and I think it will help that you have done a lot of reading and such...

If it were me, I'd say get an older one and learn first. Maybe try to teach the horse a new trick or something to get a feel for how it all works and then go ahead a little later with the foal. I know it's tough to wait but in the long run it would be worth it I think. Good Luck!

loosie 11-30-2008 05:44 PM