The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Critique me! (video, long-ish description) (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/critique-me-video-long-ish-description-188106/)

Hrtspwns 05-05-2013 11:45 PM

Critique me! (video, long-ish description)

PLEASE READ: I've been jumping for about 8 years, going from trainer to trainer and always being told something different! Anywho, this past year I've learned a lot and I started leasing this horse last September. I taught her to jump a little, we don't do much since she's 18 years old (she's fine with this much). THE PROBLEM: My legs swing back. A lot. My legs are probably the best they've ever been in this video. Sad. I want to be able to jump higher later on with different horses. My calves have HUGE knots in them and I'm currently on my way to the sport medicine doc to figure out what's up. I've been aware of the problem for about 2 years. My tight/knotted calves hurt my form a LOT. SO just take that into consideration. I stretch a lot as well and workout regularly. :)

SOO, can anyone tell me where I'm going wrong maybe? Am I pinching with my knees? Not enough weight in heels? Thank you!

And yes I realize I was on the wrong lead haha. She has issues with that side sometimes, and she was picking it up correctly most of the day.

QHriderKE 05-05-2013 11:50 PM

I'm not a jumper, (YET!!) but I'd like to see you sit up a bit straighter?

Hrtspwns 05-05-2013 11:55 PM

While I was cantering or jumping? I was trying to stay in two-point from the beginning of the video, but yea I have a tendency to lean which makes me over-jump sometimes since I feel like I have to help her jump haha.

alexischristina 05-05-2013 11:59 PM