The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Parenting (http://www.horseforum.com/parenting/)
-   -   Working parents - summer plans? (http://www.horseforum.com/parenting/working-parents-summer-plans-193522/)

Cynical25 05-15-2013 10:04 AM

Working parents - summer plans?

Sometimes I wish I was a teacher, just so I'd have the summer off! It's stressful finding the "right" summer camp(s) each year. What do your kids do while you're at work, once school is out?

aforred 05-15-2013 11:23 AM

I work at home with the horses, and I have a boarding house that I clean. So he gets to hang out with me if he needs to, but generally, he spends his summers at the city pool. (Except days he has a baseball game!)

busysmurf 05-15-2013 12:59 PM

My oldest (10) will stay at home by herself or go by my dad's occaisionaly. Then she has summer school from mid-June to the end of July.

My youngest (4) will remain at daycare all day.

cakemom 05-15-2013 01:08 PM

My job as a sub affords me the luxury of being home, and I groom pets from home as well- so I am very lucky.
Posted via Mobile Device

Maple 05-15-2013 03:16 PM

144 Attachment(s)
My husband and I stagger our working days. I'm off Mon, Tues, Wed and he's off Thur, Fri, Sat. I'm now working two jobs so he's more "hands on" at the moment then I am.

They will spend my days off at the stables this year, DD will compete in 5 or 6 lead rein shows, and DS will compete in one if we come across an under 3 category again - if not, he will just begrudgingly have to watch her. We will allow him to "warm up" the pony for a few minutes though in order to make him think he's taking part :)

Cynical25 05-16-2013 12:32 PM

My son is on two waiting lists for M-F all day camps, one of which we applied for in March. It's nerve-wracking not yet knowing where he'll go, as school gets out in two weeks...

Fowl Play 05-26-2013 10:48 PM