The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Trying to Kick me! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/trying-kick-me-19888/)

CrazyChester 12-29-2008 09:11 PM

Trying to Kick me!

My Mare keeps on trying to kick me. I might be working her in the round yard and she will turn to kick me. I would be feeding her and she would try and kick, even when Im out catching her she will try and kick me.

She has missed all of the times she has tried but Im so scared that one day she wont. I have owned her for around 1 month now and ever since I bought her she has been doing it.

She also kicks undersaddle, I would give her a nudge and she would kick out. I'm not experienced enough to make her stop, if there is anyway to stop it. What do you guys think I should do?

rascalboy 12-29-2008 09:16 PM

You're the boss. If you were the lead mare would you let a horse kick you? No, you'd turn around and beat the other horse's butt.
I'd carry a crop and if she kicks, I'd whack her on the butt with it.
Sure some people might think it's 'mean', but I'd rather the horse glares at me, then my having to be rushed to the hospital cause my horse shattered my leg.
I'd also look in to possibly having a training/experienced horse person come in every week or two, to make sure you aren't letting your mare develope bad habbits. Just a thought... :)

CrazyChester 12-29-2008 09:18 PM

I cant affored for someone to come in every week or two. For a trainer it will be around $200 and I have already talk to my parents about a instructor and they said no.

I will try the crop thing, but if I do that wont she have trouble with whips in the future?

PoptartShop 12-29-2008 09:41 PM

Try lunging her for a bit, to show who's in charge: you. :) Do you have a small roundpen you can work with her in, so you can do a lot of groundwork? She needs to know who's boss, & lots of groundwork can usually handle that.

Got2Gallop 12-29-2008 09:42 PM