The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Gaited Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/gaited-horses/)
-   -   Probably a Dumb Question... (http://www.horseforum.com/gaited-horses/probably-dumb-question-19896/)

megannigan 12-29-2008 10:06 PM

Probably a Dumb Question...

Okay, so I have little to no experience with gaited horses. I have always rode English on your standard TBs, QHs, Paints, Warmbloods, etc. Recently I have started riding TWHs where I work because are trying to sell some. Basically I have been told "Do NOT let them trot, whatever you do." So I know a gaited horse should not trot, but what are their gaits called? I have labeled them: Walk, Slow-And-Smooth, Fast-And-Smooth, Fast-And-Bumpy (but not a trot), and Something-Kind-Of-Like-A-Canter-But-Not. Until recently, I have thought a rack was the two beat gait that they do that is both legs on the same side at the same time. Obviously, I know nothing about gaited horses except that they are not supposed to trot. What are those gaits called and what's the difference?

Sissimut-icehestar 12-29-2008 10:12 PM

hm.. I always have a hard time understanding all those different names, but pace is where the legs on the same side move at the same time.
And then I know that tölt is a four beat gait where only 2 or 1 legs are at the ground at any given time.

Zab 12-29-2008 11:05 PM

And I still wonder what Crow is doing with 3 feet on the ground xD

But trot is not bad with all gaited horses, Sissi, am I right that icelandics are allowed to trot as well?

I sure don't mind Crow being able to trot, the more gaits to chose from the better. But I can see how it makes the rack more difficult, especially if a horse is learning to rack and is happy about trotting.

BeauReba 12-29-2008 11:38 PM

Here's a website on the rack: Racking Gait

Pacing is when the horse advances both left legs at the same time and then both right legs at the same time.

Sissimut-icehestar 12-30-2008 09:23 AM

Quote: