The Horse Forum (http://www.horseforum.com/forumindex.php)
- Horse Talk (/horse-talk/)
- - Brand Inspection? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/brand-inspection-19980/)
I'm from Mississippi and I've lived in Colorado for about three years. My horse is supposed to be delivered to me Saturday, and I just found out that we have to have a brand inspection done. I have never heard of such! Apparently someone from the State has to come down and look at my horse (at her current owner's house) and write down her markings like they would on a coggins form, and make a note of who owns her. I don't know what else they look at. Is this a requirement where you live? I'm hoping we can get it done on or before Saturday, or else it'll be a while before I can get her.
We have to do it here in Montana. I didn't have to do it when I lived in NJ. I had my horse here for like 4 years and I just got a permanent brand inspection done. Oops.
You're supposed to have it at all times when traveling with your horse, etc just like coggins.
From your brand inspection board:
The Division of Brand Inspection's primary responsibility is to protect the livestock industry from loss by theft, illegal butchering, or straying of livestock.
The division is assigned five principal regulatory responsibilities:
I'm not paying for it (I'll probably pay for the permanent thing -whatever it's called -when I start showing her) so I'm not worried about the cost. I think it's $18. I'm worried that they won't be able to get out to look at her before Saturday and I won't be able to get her!
I don't know about Colorado, but I don't think it will be a problem as long as you have someone scheduled to come out.
My shipping company was able to drop Diesel off here without a problem.
It says here that it is a misdemeanor if you are pulled over while hauling a horse and don't provide the brand inspection. YIKES!
I've never been asked for it if that helps... =/
Just don't trailer him anywhere till you get it done?
She won't be trailered for a while, so that's a relief. But I think if you do it after the sale, it's a $250 fine. I'm not sure if the fine is for the seller, or the buyer, or both!
Colorado is officially way less cool than Montana.
Which is hard to do.
Hopefully they don't enforce that rule here. Like I said, I went a long time without getting mine (including shows) and was okay.
|All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 AM.|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.