The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Riding Confidence Issues? (Novice Rider) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/riding-confidence-issues-novice-rider-201089/)

JulyCharm 05-27-2013 11:31 AM

Riding Confidence Issues? (Novice Rider)

Hi!

Recently I had an accident on a spooky 13 year old gelding. I was an EXTREMELY novice rider when the accident happened,I had just learned how to trot. I take part of the blame for the accident though.
Anyways recently I took up riding again at a new barn
, where the horses are mostly push-botton and easy to work with. My instructor decided to move me up to a 15'3 7 year old Paint Gelding who can be a piece of work. He has a lot of issues on the ground but in saddle he's a dream. Anyways
He reminded me a lot of the gelding I had the accident on,even though he was a very sweet horse and practically bombproof. I have moved on very well since I started at this barn but yesterday I couldn't even do basic groundwork. Haha I was having even difficultly trotting. I was so scared. I was shaking and stuttering and I thought I might have a panic attack. My instructor understood and asked if next lesson I wanted to move back to the push-botton mare I used to ride. I want the challenge but I'm not sure.

Do any of you have novice horse stories like mine? I would love to hear them. Thank you. :-)

(And I apologize if I'm doing something wrong; I'm novice to the Horse Forum as well! :oops:)

Cacowgirl 05-27-2013 01:12 PM

Hi & Welcome. We ride horses for fun & relaxation, so if your instructor isn't on board w/that, let him/her know that right now you want to build your confidence back~challenges can come later, if you so wish.

JulyCharm 05-27-2013 07:21 PM

Hi! Thank you so much for the advice! :)
Tomorrow I'll text her. I'm sure my instructor will understand. Thank you ! :)

Saskia 05-27-2013 07:44 PM