The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   New to Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/)
-   -   Moody mare help!! (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/moody-mare-help-203849/)

Leanneandkitty2013 05-31-2013 10:34 AM

Moody mare help!!

Hi I brought my first horse named kitty who is a pleasure to be around and is very affectionate on the ground but when she is in seaon she changes in the saddle she won't stand still for me to mount her and kicks her back leg out, when I do get on she bucks and is taking off. does anyone have any advice on how to calm her down or even how to gain her trust and respect I am a novice so I'd really appreciate any advice thanks

usandpets 05-31-2013 12:03 PM

From what you said, her actions don't sound like they are based on fear, excitement, or lacking trust. It does sound like she is irritated.

You might want to have her checked over by a vet when she goes into heat, for soreness or pain. After that, I would put her butt to work when she decides to move when you want her to stand still. I would increase my energy level, like a "Come to Jesus" meeting with her, so she would understand pretty quick that her behavior was unacceptable.

Now if her actions were fear or excitement based, I would remain calm and stay with while she moved getting on, basically desensitizing.

For the bucking, get someone experienced to help or try to ride it out but pull her head to the side.
Posted via Mobile Device

usandpets 05-31-2013 01:19 PM

One thing I forgot to mention, when you do get on, don't start going right away. Stand there for a minute or two. Flex her to both sides a few times. If you are in the habit of taking off as soon as you get on, the horse will anticipate it and try to before you are ready. That also could be why she moves around while you are getting on.
Posted via Mobile Device

Prunella1 06-01-2013 11:24 PM