The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Help me pick a barn for lessons! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/help-me-pick-barn-lessons-206402/)

Itybty 06-04-2013 12:00 AM

Help me pick a barn for lessons!

I have been riding at Barn A, a medium sized lesson barn, for almost 3 years now. The owner is certifiably insane (definitely a hoarder and a pathological liar and I suspect bi-polar), but her husband is nice, and when she is in a good mood is actually quite nice, but will turn on you in a hot second. I've made several friends there that I really and truly enjoy seeing when I am there, and there are a couple of retired senior horses I'm pretty fond of as well. It's also about the cheapest place I've found for lessons and leases, and now I know why. The problem is that because the owner is crazy she can't seem to keep an instructor for more than a few months, and I have had, no kidding, 13 different instructors over the last 3 years there. Not one has stuck around for more than 6 months, and a few only lasted a month or so. She also is a cheapskate, which doesn't work when you have older horses who need more grain to keep their weight up, and when you are crazy and say things like, "Yeah you can see his ribs, but he's an OTTB, thats what they are supposed to look like!" and other horses that can only be ridden by selected riders because they lack proper training. They are quite literally trained by the lesson kids. The horse I have been leasing on and off for the past 18 months is ok, but frustrating to ride, stubborn and slow as hell, and older. (and is also, despite my lease, used in 4 other lessons per week, which limits my riding time on him) I could ask to change horses, but the only other horses available for me to lease are nuts and I value my limbs intact. I could drop to just weekly lessons, and ride a different horse as well, but my goal is to improve my riding, and with a lease, I can ride ev