The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Buying My First Horse (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/buying-my-first-horse-20741/)

HorseRiderLover 01-12-2009 08:51 PM

Buying My First Horse

I have been riding for about a year and am going to get a horse once I find the right one. I was wondering what height and breed you think is right for me. I am turning 13 this year and am a confident beginner.
I am about 145cm and weigh about 38kg. Please tell me what height horse you think would suit me, but please don't comment on whether or not I'm ready for a horse.
Any help is appreciated, Thanks.

JustDressageIt 01-12-2009 09:38 PM

Breeds come in various temperaments, from skittish to "bombproof." I think, beyond breed, you should concentrate on finding a horse with the training level you want, and a height you could be comfortable with.
Being a beginner, I would suggest looking at horses around 10 years old with a good temperament and the level of training that you want on it so you're not over-mounted on a horse that will make you scared.
Best of luck in your search.

BluMagic 01-12-2009 09:39 PM

In my opinion, size isn't all that important for beginning. I would say around 15hh. I think disposition has a lot to do with the general 'size' of a horse. For example, you can have a 12hh pony that acts like a huge racehorse. And there's that giant Belgian that is so sweet.

Anyhow, age can vary. My horse at your age was 15hh and 22yrs old. Thats a little too old for me but he was a great boy and never quit. Sorry about my rambling. I would need to know a bit more about you to give you my true opinion but for now...

I'm thinking between 14 and 17 depending on your disciplines and the horse. I'm not good at giving advice. But I hope this helped some! :)

Jubilee Rose 01-12-2009 11:40 PM