The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Knee pain during riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/knee-pain-during-riding-207410/)

Dfrey16 06-05-2013 04:32 PM

Knee pain during riding

Hello, I have been riding for a couple of years now. My issue is that I was riding English (learning to jump) and have recently began riding western for my job.
I had an issue with my knee a few years ago and had to get surgery on it and it is fine when I ride english but riding western is causing it to ache horribly.
Like I said, this is my job so I cannot just switch to English....

Is there anyone else that has noticed knee pain in Western but not English and is there any way of easing the pain!?

bsms 06-05-2013 04:59 PM

Yes. Sometimes it helps to get the fender bent.

http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack...tirrups-17669/

Sometimes I think it is the saddle tree.

Our Circle Y Mojave kills my knees...15 minutes or riding, and I'll limp when I get off. I used our Abetta a couple of days ago on our little BLM mustang, and I did fine. The shape of the Circle Y puts my thigh forward and then kind of leaves my knee hanging in mid-air. The Abetta has a narrower tree and allows my thigh to go down in my normal riding position. You might try borrowing some other saddles to see if any fit your legs better.

Good luck!

Skyseternalangel 06-05-2013 05:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dfrey16 (Post 2716058)
Hello, I have been riding for a couple of years now. My issue is that I was riding English (learning to jump) and have recently began riding western for my job.
I had an issue with my knee a few years ago and had to get surgery on it and it is fine when I ride english but riding western is causing it to ache horribly.
Like I said, this is my job so I cannot just switch to English....

Is there anyone else that has noticed knee pain in Western but not English and is there any way of easing the pain!?

Yes!