The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Therapeutic Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/therapeutic-riding/)
-   -   Timeline of certification/accreditation (http://www.horseforum.com/therapeutic-riding/timeline-certification-accreditation-207642/)

Magnum Opus 06-06-2013 06:36 AM

Timeline of certification/accreditation

Hey, guys! So maybe I'm easily confused. (Okay -- I'm definitely easily confused.) But I'm having a hard time sorting out the timeline of starting a new therapeutic riding center.

The situation now is this: My best friend owns a horse farm where we both live and work. We would like very much to begin a therapy program. I'm a certified special education teacher and we both have experience teaching riding lessons. We have at least two horses who have a lot of potential as therapy horses, with the right training, and we have a fabulous trainer who can help us get them there.

We don't live in an area that has a lot of PATH-certified programs for us to volunteer with. The commute is prohibitive. A while back, I volunteered once a week for about six months in a PATH program. I was a leader and side walker and helped develop strategies for dealing with behavioral challenges, as I knew the kids from my day job. My friend who owns the stable has not participated in a program yet.

We have a couple of options available for certification. We can do the online courses and then commute to a center for our supervised hours, or we can go ahead and get the commute over with by taking therapeutic riding classes at a university that isn't TOO far away. Their program culminates in PATH certification.

Here's what I don't understand from perusing the PATH website: