The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Need advice about persuaders (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/need-advice-about-persuaders-209266/)

PrincessBarbie 06-08-2013 10:55 AM

Need advice about persuaders

I would like to know if it is wise to use a persuader on a horse.My horse had to have it put on her yesterday because she had to have the hair in her ears trimmed.The persuader is used to make a horse listen from what I was told.I didn't use the persuader because I don't believe in it actually my friend did.What I seen was he took my horse's upper lip and put it in the gap and tightened it.Does anyone on here use anything like that?Is it illegal to do such thing?If so I need to take appropriate measures so that it don't happen again.I am a beginner and I will admit that and my horse is too but she's a gentle filly.What I observed the persuader is not a good item to make a horse listen.Horses can be unpredictable and dangerous and I know that.I need advice so I will know what to do thank you guys so much.
Posted via Mobile Device

DancingArabian 06-08-2013 11:14 AM

It sounds like you're talking about a twitch. If it was necessary then yes I would use one. If it were my horse, I would make desensitizing to whatever the problem is a priority so I wouldn't need to. I would rather have a horse that accepted clippers or whatever.
Posted via Mobile Device

Dustbunny 06-08-2013 11:29 AM

Also called a twitch. I might be presuaded to stand still if someone put my lip in one of those things too, but then I would immediately have to kill them when they let go.