The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Oh dear... what to do? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/oh-dear-what-do-21329/)

Velvetgrace 01-23-2009 10:04 AM

Oh dear... what to do?

Well, I have three horses that I have been ridding since August 2008. One of these mares is an 11 year old QH mare that has belonged to my family since she was a yearling. She was trained at 3 years of age and ridden only on trail rides and pastures near by for about 6 years. Then she was turned out to pasture as a broodmare and has not been ridden much but maybe 1 time a year. My sister owns the mare now and has her in the same town which I live. I really only get a chance to ride this mare maybe 1 time a week, which heavily depends on the weather and if I get off before dark.

Well, I started working with this mare trying to work her back into condition for a trail ride that is coming up in April. I have only been able to work with her about 6 times since October 2008, but when I finished I felt very positive that we had a connection. Yesterday the weather got up to nearly 75 degrees in Oklahoma and I rode this mare. On the lunge line she response beautifully to the cues and gives me no problems. While being saddle she stands quietly and gives no fuss. When I put the bridle in her mouth she takes it with ease, no chomping at the bit. Being mounted she stands quietly. When asked to walk out she responds. She neck reins very well and stops at the whoa and even will respond to the cue to go into a trot.

*** This is where I am heading to.***