The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Cleaning/Conditioning older saddle (and saddle age!) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/cleaning-conditioning-older-saddle-saddle-age-214506/)

Sunny 06-16-2013 10:00 PM

Cleaning/Conditioning older saddle (and saddle age!)

5 Attachment(s)
Hello, hello!

My amazing beau just bought me a BEAUTIFUL Crosby PDN. It is in great shape, but I'm assuming it will need a good cleaning and conditioning.

I am a synthetic tack lover, all the way, so this is my first time ever having a nice leather saddle.

I have a cleaner and some Passier Lederbalsam along with tack sponges, so I am ready to go!

My main question is how long to wait after the initial cleaning before I condition it. If you guys have any other tips, I'd love to hear!

And here is a bonus.... anyone care to guess what year my saddle is from? From my Google searching, I would guess sometime in the '90s? What do you think?

Thanks!

freia 06-16-2013 10:56 PM

That is a beautiful old Crosby. Somebody either loved it and cared for it, or it just hasn't been used at all. Nice find!

Here's what I do with my old saddle "treasures".

If they are filthy, sticky, grimy, or seem to have some unknown film on them, I give a good scrubbing with Murphy's oil soap, diluted according to the label, then rinse well.

If the leather isn't gross, I skip the Murphy's. Yours doesn't seem gross.