The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Therapeutic Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/therapeutic-riding/)
-   -   Contemplating going for PATH certification... (http://www.horseforum.com/therapeutic-riding/contemplating-going-path-certification-217466/)

cowgirlnay 06-21-2013 12:39 PM

Contemplating going for PATH certification...

Hey all,
So I graduated in 2010 with a Bachelors degree in Animal Science, with big dreams of getting into an animal/equine industry as a career. My thoughts were possibly an animal pharmaceutical company, or a barn manager, orrr something else. I honestly did not really think through what my future plans were, I just knew I want to major in Animal Science because I could think of nothing else that made more sense, and knew I wanted a future career in this field! I am horse crazy, and have grown up around horses and been riding since I was very young. Ideally, I do want a career with horses, but it is hard to determine what I could actually do and not make minimum wage. (I found out that a lot of places want you to have a certain number of years of experience, but no one is willing to give you that experience!)

In the mean time, I am working at my family's trucking company, and just showing my horse on the side to get my "horse fix." I know this is not my ideal career, and I start to panic a little when I think about getting stuck working here forever.

Anyways, I have recently begun thinking about getting my PATH certification and becoming an instructor. I volunteered a little bit at a therapeutic riding center in high school, and found it very rewarding. My first step obviously, is to sign up again as a volunteer, and do that for a little while to determine this is in fact what I want to do. After that, I would begin working towards certification. We have an AMAZING therapeutic riding center here in Yakima - it is the only PATH certified one in Central Washington I believe.