The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barn Maintenance (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/)
-   -   Growing and sowing new pasture (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/growing-sowing-new-pasture-218802/)

HippieCowgirl 06-23-2013 11:12 PM

Growing and sowing new pasture

Hey guys!
My childhood dream of moving out into the country is finally coming true... 10 year late, but its still happening. I'm moving with my parents to a little house on 6 acres in November. I have been working with and around horses for 10 years, but I have never had the joys of creating my own pasture before.

Now I don't have horses at the moment, but I do want to set up 2 separate horse pastures. My goal is to be able to rotate the pastures, which will be 1-2 acres each. I'm going to take my time and not rush the process, but I really have no idea where to start.

I know I need to get rid of the rocks, trees, and cactus, create the ideal fencing, and watch and get rid of seasonal weeds. I just don't know what I need to lay down seed/hay/grass type wise. Plus the big question is there anything else I'm missing?

I am not bring horses here until this place is perfect, and I'm clearing and doing this all by hand. Which means I'm giving myself a year or so to do all.
I just wanted to see what advice, tips, and tricks y'all could tell me.

BTW the land is mid Texas around San Antonio and Austin. And the picture below is a part of where I want a pasture to go.

Thanks in advance :D

http://thumbs.trulia-cdn.com/picture...3defed67cb.jpg

toto 06-23-2013 11:42 PM

:wave:

Thats so cool!

The first thing id say you needed would be a good tractor!

Youll need it to move the rocks and clear the land for pasture.

then youll need it to dig your post holes (or you can do it by hand)