The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Help! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/help-21885/)

Paintlover115 02-01-2009 03:12 PM

Help!

okay, so i have two horses and i have been boarding them at the same place for the last 3 years and my filly in the last few weeks has droped ALOT of weight! and i just dont know what to do! i had the vet come out and look at her but she didnt find anything wrong with her. so we uped her feed to see if it would help and last night i went out to check on her and she's fondering in her feet and still hasn't gained any weight. can anyone help me? what should i feed her that will help her gain weight without fondering? she's one of those horses that has a really sesitive digestive system and any time we change her feed or move her she does this. but her feed hasn't been changed yet she losing weight for no reason? should i just move her or what? she's being fed alfalfa so i wonder if thats the problem? but she been being fed that for the last 4 months for winter and there hasn't been an issue tell now?! she's also in her own stall by her self. can anyone give me some advise? im at my wits end...

Ryle 02-01-2009 07:23 PM

First, if your horse is foundering it's time to get your vet out ASAP. If she has a history of founder, then you need to discuss the possibility of metabolic disease such as insulin resistance with your vet and probably go ahead and get a resting serum insulin test run.

Randomly making feeding recommendations on a horse that is loosing weight but foundering is a poor poor idea. By doing lots of the common things done to increase weight you may be in fact increasing the likelihood of repeat occurances of laminitis/founder.

What breed of horse is she? What is she currently eating? How old is she? Where on her body is the weight loss occuring? How many times has she foundered before?

Paintlover115 02-01-2009 07:52 PM

Quote: