The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Opinions on Iberian Warmblood as first horse to train (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/opinions-iberian-warmblood-first-horse-train-219297/)

klkavich 06-24-2013 04:10 PM

Opinions on Iberian Warmblood as first horse to train

Hi,

I am considering purchasing an Iberian Warmblood filly. Sire is Reg'd Azteca and Dam is Reg'd QH. I am more looking to see what type of personality/sensitivity and if she will be too much horse for me, as this will be the first I'm training.

I have been riding for over 7 years (intermediate rider) and am planning to train her the basics and send her for refined training at a later date to a well known trainer (she was my coach). I am looking to stay in English riding and don't really plan on competing. So basically English pleasure riding with a possibility of jumping, and a slighter possibility of dressage.

I am specifically looking at your opinion on these questions, please do not start a debate over the "Iberian Warmblood" breed, I've already read through most of them.

If anyone has experience training this breed, that would be great!

Thanks!

teamfire 06-28-2013 03:08 AM

Depends, I guess??

I bought my very first horse a year ago, with only 4 years of riding under my belt and minimal lease experience. Best decision ever.

I'm training him (Got him rising 6, an oldenberg/andie gelding) on my own, with help of two coaches but on the ground. One of my coaches has only been on him a max of 2 full rides, and 3 half rides. Not bad for someone with next to no training experience!

But this is possible ONLY because he is super forgiving and generous. He rarely complains, and if I do something wrong or ask in a way that he doesn't understand, he never pulls anything funny.