The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horses for Sale (http://www.horseforum.com/horses-sale/)
-   -   Wanted-Advise for first-time horse purchase. (http://www.horseforum.com/horses-sale/wanted-advise-first-time-horse-purchase-2204/)

Thisskyeishuman 06-12-2007 12:35 AM

Wanted-Advise for first-time horse purchase.

Hi Guys -waves-
I'm Skye, and not only am I new to this forum, I'm new to shopping for horses, and anything horse related as far as it goes =].

I'm 17 years old, and have finnaly managed to scrounge up enough money from my minimum wage job to start thinking about buying and boarding a horse. I plan on boarding the same place my Friend and fellow employee does, if they have room, and at 250 dollars a month (full service) it's almost my entire paycheck, but my parents are willing to help out too, leaving me enough money to put gas in my eco friendly car, (lol, I drive a camry that gets amazing gas mileage <3). I've put away almost $500 dollars to put towardsa an initial payment on a horse, in hopes that if the horse is selling for more than 500 dollars that they will let me pay for it month by month, until it is completly mine, if that makes sense, kind of like Leasing-to-own.

I know what I'm looking for, something shorter, stockier, as I'm planning to run poles and barrels, but also something that would be a good pleasure ride. I'm looking for an old young horse, possible between the ages of 9-14, so it can teach me a few things, but is willing to learn it self. Though I am a first time buyer I am not inexperianced with horses, I've ridden green-broke mares and helped my aunt train her horses (she doesn't have horses any more, tragically, on new years day, about three years ago now, her brood mare was stolen out of her pasture along with a two geldings and another mare, all who have yet to be recovered, with worse fear being they ended up at slaughter).